top of page

The world's largest collection of tomb Raider game


Image Sourced: Alex Facebook

In 1996 the world was introduced to the most recognisable, and iconic heroine of gaming. The and only Lara Croft.

Now following her adventures 20 years on, she has successfully got over 10 games and various spin-off's, different pieces of merchandise and an ever devoting fan base.

It was through this fan base I have made great friendships. There is one outstanding friend I have made that has given me the honour to write about them and their collection.

“Lara Croft is like a sister, like a person. She helped me”.

18-year-old Spanish journalist student Alejandro Cambronero Albaladejo (Alex’s Tomb Raider Blog)is attempting to get a new world record for 'The most Tomb Raider games'.

There is no current record, so the bar is set to allow such an amazing person to get this record.

He is no stranger to having a world record as this will be his second. Alex was fortunate enough to help towards to Tomb Raider community attending Paris Games week. Featuring as cosplayer No. #193 for the largest gathering of Lara Croft cosplayers.

Image Sourced: Alexca26m

It was during this weekend he successfully grabbed a few additional games for his collection. Some of which I haven’t personally seen. “The most difficult games to obtain were the french games. Tomb Raider 1-3 on Mac PC as I have never seen these online or any shop.”

The collection is slowly growing with over 200 games, which span across multiple regions and alternative covers (some still to be received). Alex sources the games from eBay, local stores, and family and friends.

Alex has mentioned “I’ve got more than 200…including standard versions, promotional copies and more. I have the games from countries like Spain, USA, Italy, France Germany, Mexico and the UK.”

I was the support towards his UK games collection and currently have an overflowing box with his games awaiting shipment.

It was in 2003 where Alex’s love for Lara Croft started. He purchased a copy of The Angel of Darkness (core Designs, 2003) on PlayStation 2.

Around 2013 his collection really grew and he started his blog “I decided to create my blog due to my passion for writing. I wanted to share a bit of me with the world”.

Our friendship bloomed from my Instagram account which I developed around my personal collection. I was bombarded with praise and questions upon where I got some of my items and one particular message was different.

Image Sourced: Alex Facebook Page

Alex welcomed me with open arms and we got talking about our love for Tomb Raider and our collections. It was a wonderful feeling to meet someone who shares the same passion and is recognised by Crystal Dynamics.

I had a few multiple collectables and offered to give them to Alex. It was risky but it was one I was happy to take. A few weeks later my items arrived we then exchanged images of our most rare items within our collection.

There was something a bit different with his collection from fellow fans. Here was someone that had the same Tomb Raider game over and over again but different platforms and regions.

When I personally mention this to others people question my logic and bank account. What's the point in having a game you have or can't understand? My reasoning, it’s my collection and makes me happy, to me it’s my equivalent of having many designer shoes and being to scared to wear them.

Image Sourced: From Alex's Facebook Page

Alex ambition to collect is incredible, and from 3 years to obtain a vast amount of games is an achievement within itself. After many conversations, I did a bit of research to realise no one has a world record for the most Tomb Raider games. So I highlighted this and encouraged Alex to go for.

To help bunk up his collection I offered my assistance. I understand the struggle of using a site such as eBay in a different country and either the postal costs are sky high or they won't deliver.

To which I allowed Alex my home address in the UK so that he had access to eBay UK to buy cheap games and find various alternative covers. Without this opportunity, I don’t feel he would have been able to reach his target and it’s been an honour to participate.

We are both attending the Tomb Raider concert in December and by pure coincidence, we have been sat by one another. I'm looking forward to meeting you Alex as it’s been wonderful to meet a fellow fan across the globe. You have show me to collect what makes you happy and that there is always a loving community to support you.

Alex has told me that the world record would mean “all it’s recognition of hard work. The method to share your passion and your collection with the entire world."

You can follow Alex from his website Alex’s Tomb Raider blog, here’s to the future and hope you get this world record.

Image Sourced: Alex's Facebook Page


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me on
bottom of page